Put forward by the U.S. and EU, the Global Methane Pledge has brought together more than 100 countries, representing 70% of the global economy and nearly half of anthropogenic methane emissions.

Ahead of the pledge, U.S. President Joe Biden will be implementing multiple policies to tackle methane emissions in the U.S. Although these will focus primarily on the oil and gas industry, the U.S. Department of Agriculture will also work to expand the voluntary adoption of climate-smart agriculture practices that will reduce methane emissions from key agriculture sources by incentivising the deployment of improved manure management systems, anaerobic digesters, new livestock feeds, composting and other practices.

According to the European Commission, delivering on the Global Methane Pledge would reduce warming by at least 0.2°C by 2050.

The signatories of the Global Methane Pledge, at present, are: Albania, Andorra, Argentina, Armenia, Barbados, Belgium, Belize, Benin, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Canada, Central African Republic, Chile, Colombia, Republic of the Congo, Cameroon, Costa Rica, Cote D’Ivoire, Croatia, Cyprus, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Denmark, Djibouti, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Estonia, Ethiopia, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, Finland, France, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Honduras, Iceland, Indonesia, Iraq, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Korea, Kyrgyzstan, Kuwait, Liberia, Libya, Luxembourg, Malawi, Mali, Malta, Marshall Islands, Mexico, Monaco, Montenegro, Morocco, Nauru, Netherlands, Nepal, New Zealand, Nigeria, North Macedonia, Niue, Norway, Pakistan, Palau, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Peru, Philippines, Portugal, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia, Singapore, Slovenia, Spain, Kitts & Nevis, Suriname, Sweden, Switzerland, Togo, Tonga, Tunisia, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, Uruguay, and Vanuatu.