Brazil, Russia, Indonesia and the Democratic Republic of the Congo are among the world leaders signing the agreement on November 2, backed by US$19.2 billion in public and private funding.

Mauricio Bauer, Managing Director of Beef Supply Chains for the World Wide Fund for Nature (WWF), spoke about the growing dangers of deforestation at the Sustainable Leather Forum in September, where he called for the leather industry to “encourage your suppliers to account for increased traceability”.

However, environmental campaigners are warning leaders at COP26 to hold Brazilian President Jair Bolsonaro to account. Carlos Rittl, a senior policy adviser at the Rainforest Foundation Norway, told The Guardian: “It will be the biggest team ever. They are spending a lot on communications. Agriculture and industry will be there and a big comms team trying to sell the world a different image. But the world needs to hold Brazil accountable to the truth. The satellites don’t lie.”

The full list of signatories to the Glasgow Leaders Declaration on Forest and Land Use (as of November 1, 2021) are:

Albania, Andorra, Angola, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Belize, Bhutan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Bulgaria, Cameroon, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cote D’Ivoire, Cyprus, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Democratic Republic of the Congo, European Union, Ecuador, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Gabon, Germany, Ghana, Guatemala, Guinea Bissau, Guyana, Honduras, Iceland, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Liberia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Malta, Mauritius, Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Niger, Nigeria, North Macedonia, Norway, Pakistan, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Congo, Romania, Russia, Saint Lucia, Samoa, San Marino, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka, Suriname, Sweden, Tanzania, Togo, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, Ukraine, Uruguay, United Kingdom, United States of America, Vanuatu, Vietnam, Zambia, Zimbabwe.