Originally scheduled to take place on June 5 at the Louis Vuitton Foundation in France, the event has been cancelled. LVMH said this year’s Prize will be awarded to the eight finalists of the 2020 edition, who were selected by the committee of experts during the semi-final held in late February. The €300,000 award is to be distributed equally among the finalists. “The health crisis poses an economic threat to young talent. That is why the LVMH Prize has set up a Fund in aid of young fashion designers that will notably be supplemented by the 2020 Karl Lagerfeld Prize allocation”, said the French Group.

This year’s finalists are Ahluwalia by Priya Ahluwalia (UK), Casablanca by Charaf Tajer (France), Chopova lowena by Emma Chopova and Laura lowena (Bulgarian-American and British designers), Nicholas Daley by Nicholas Daley (UK), Peter Do by Peter Do (U.S.), Sindiso Khumalo by Sindiso Khumalo (South Africa), Supriya Lele by Supriya Lele (UK), and Tomo Koizumi by Tomotoka Koizumi (Japan).